Girl Hidden - Kate Gable

Girl Hidden

By Kate Gable

  • Release Date: 2021-05-27
  • Genre: Women Sleuths
Score: 4
4
From 192 Ratings

Description

Don’t run after me…

A family is found dead in their home. The only survivor is the teenage daughter who managed to escape the burning house. 

Who killed them? And why? Detective Kaitlyn Carr has to bring their killer to justice.

A year before her disappearance, Violet, Kaitlyn’s sister, comes to stay with her after a bad fight with their mom. She can’t stand living at home as much as Kaitlyn once did and wants to move in with her. 

But Kaitlyn was just promoted to detective and her hours are erratic and long. She’s never home and she can’t take care of a teenager. Or maybe she can? 

As she gets closer and closer to finding out who killed the Hendrel family, her own family reaches a breaking point. 

What happens when her sister asks her to do the impossible? What happens when she can’t say no? 

What happens when the dysfunction of her own family threatens to blow up her face and let the killer off for good?

Girl Hidden is a suspenseful thriller novella set in the same world as the Girl Missing series. It is perfect for fans of A. J. Rivers, Mary Stone, Willow Rose, James Patterson, Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot, Ella Gray, and Karin Slaughter. It has mystery, angst, a bit of romance and family drama.

Reviews

  • Great read

    5
    By LA0790
    Ended too soon - good twist!
  • Girl Hidden

    5
    By LatersBaby7
    I enjoyed this book as it was a departure from the stories I have read from this author in the past.
  • Suspenseful Crime Read

    5
    By VickSt1
    This quick read crime mystery features LAPD Detectve Kaitlyn Carr, her teenage sister Violet, and Detective Thomas Abrams, her love interest and assigned partner. Kaitlyn and Thomas are assigned to a case where the Hendel family was murdered except for Angie, a fourteen year old teenager, who escapes and holds the clues they need to solve this mysterious murder. This well written novella introduces the primary characters for this new suspenseful series which end in a jaw dropping conclusion. The next book in this series is Girl Missing which I can hardly wait to read. I highly recommend this book. I received a free copy of this book and am voluntarily leaving an honest review.
  • Loved it!

    5
    By 95one
    This novella is the first book from Author Kate Gable, and from I read, it is a start to a very good series. What a story! Twisty, suspenseful thriller that is fast-paced. I absolutely LOVED this book. The storyline pulls you straight in with the first few chapters. It was addictive and emotional... I was gripped instantly... I was obsessed, and I couldn’t stop myself from reading. When you think you have it all figured out, then BAM, another curveball is thrown at you. Detective Kaitlyn (Kate) Carr was called to the scene on her day off with her sister, Violet, who is visiting her. Then, her partner Det. Thomas Abrams, joins her to investigate the brutal slaying of an entire family at their home in Laurel Canyon, and the only survivor is a 14 year old daughter, Angie. Who could have done this horrendous crime? The detectives discover that this case is far from being straightforward—leading them to several suspects. I love mystery/thriller stories. I felt the characters were very human and real, and I was totally engaged. If you find a book that grabs you and doesn’t want to let go, then, this one will be right up your alley! Kate Gable creates a world, plot, and characters that linger long after the last sentence of the last page. I HIGHLY recommend this book.

Comments